Trophy Cupcakes

Trophy Cupcakes

Trophy Cupcakes

Red Velvet Cupcake

Red Velvet Cupcake

I normally don’t even like cupcakes. They are often characterized as being overly sweet, airy/tasteless and mostly sticky sweet sugar frosting. I’m not impressed by Cupcake Royale, even though they were named best cupcake by Sauveur magazine. CR is good, but nothing exceptional. This weekend I visited Trophy Cupcakes in Wallingford for the second time. A friend who loves cupcakes was visiting so I figured I would take her to the place featured on Martha Stewart. My first time at Trophy I had the hummingbird cupcake: banana pineapple cake with cream cheese frosting and a chocolate cupcake to go with vanilla frosting. Both were excellent; dense, moist, rich full of flavor with decadent frosting.

This time I tried the lemon, which is actually one of the best ways to judge the quality of a dessert. The exact ratio of lemon to sweetness is hard to master, some places overly compensate the tartness of the lemon with too much sugar and a lemon dessert that is too tart falls more in the savory category. Trophy has mastered the art of a lemon buttercake with lemon cream frosting. Hints of lemon in the buttercake, most likely from a bit of the zest, yet the lemon was evident in the frosting, rich, tart and sweet.

Rows of Lemon Cupcakes

Rows of Lemon Cupcakes

I still have yet to try the famous S’More cupcake and Red Velvet, which I hear from various sources is fantastic. One source did a taste test of Royale vs, Trophy, she said Trophy was the obvious winner. Trophy, you won me over to the dark side of the cupcake, I am certain to return to try more of your delicious creations.

5 responses to “Trophy Cupcakes

  1. Oooh, s’mores sound good! I haven’t been to Trophy yet – but your review is making me want to check it out ASAP!

  2. Yay for cupcakes! Nice pics 😉 I do highly recommend the red velvet. It was good, even after sitting in a car for a few hours.

  3. yummy, sounds delicous, but i dont think Mr. Gym would aprove…. 🙂

  4. I concur– I used to think the cupcake trend was overrated but Trophy changed my mind and won my heart. I still love my Betty Crocker cake mix cupcakes, but Trophy is the best non-homemade out there. Cupcake Royale? Too much frosting, dry cake. Trophy is a delight.

  5. I was just there! Love, love, love that place (triple chocolate for me). And next to me in line was a woman who had just moved here from Manhattan and she says they are better than any cupcake joint she ever went to in NYC. YUMMMMMMM.

Leave a Reply

