Shame on me

Well honestly I am again absent from my food blogging. I continue to read other food blogs daily, filling my head with knowledge of the Seattle food scene, yet I am remorse in my own adventures in eating. Not that I haven’t dined at some fine eateries and some not so good ones in Seattle and outside including another trip to Austin and Florida. Dinner Club has taken a break, although we did gather for a delicious if I do say so home cooked potluck style meal. I personally started baking (sorta) again with an olive oil cake with Sauternes and roasted pears then a Guinness chocolate cake for St. Patty’s day.

Reading today about the continuing saga of Culinary Communion which is ironically less than .5 miles from my work, yet I not once actually made the trek up the hill to try their now closed lunch counter. Instead I frequent Pho Cycle, Marcina Bakery and other not so fine nor local establishments in the SoDo vicinity. In my own Ballard neighborhood I have yet to make it to Moshi Sushi to experience first hand the LED cherry blossom nor a slice of pizza at Veraci. A brief visit to the Ballard Farmers Market Sunday truly represented the first day of spring, unfortunately I left empty handed. Rather last night I dined on the fine cuisine of Taco Bell and Haribo gummy bears. Today I did have a fantastic lunch of mac n cheese at Geraldines Counter in Columbia City, note to self go back for breakfast, my lunch companion’s hash looked incredible. And Skillet, I’ve been absent, except for a brief reunion last week for the divine mussels and arriving way too late this past Tuesday, you were sold out, I’ve missed your delicious trailer made food.

To properly do SS justice, I will compile a list of places to try, of course still at the top, Corson Building, soon I hope but also Spinasse, the fallafel trailer in Georgetown, Pike Street Fish Fry, brunch at Olivar, Cocina Esperanza in Crown Hill, Tamarind Tree/Green Leaf and a few others that my rightfully tired brain cannot remember at the moment.

Must let the words of the palm reader last October resonate in my mind, keep on writing & pursue your passions.

Leave a Reply

