Cache aka Super Secret Dinner Club

Honestly I wasn’t sure what to expect. Instead of exchanging gifts this year two wonderful girlfriends and I decided to do a special dinner together. We had originally planned to do the Corson Building, but after Noelle heard about the mac and cheese at Cache, my mac and cheese lover friends suggested we do Corson in the spring and try the underground dinner club in Columbia City.

The menu:

First course

Mini gruyere sandwiches and roasted tomato soup

Third course

Our award-winning 5 cheese mac n cheese and balsamic-glazed meatloaf

Dessert

the BEST giant, warm El Rey chocolate chip cookies, salted peanut butter brownies, and a glass of boozy egg nog

In a darling 1920 bungalow tucked away in Columbia City is a foodies paradise- communal dining table with 12 strangers who also love good food, conversation and of course wine. We were greeted with champagne flutes with pomegranate seeds. I thought to myself, I can do this. At first I was mostly observing the surroundings, mostly trying to figure out how to incorporate our host’s style into my apartment. We struck conversation with the couple across from us and the evening flowed from there. Beautifully presented courses, some served family style. The theme of the evening, rich. Tomato soup with Gruyere crostini, the best tomato soup I’ve had in awhile, conversation slowed down a bit as we savoured our soup. A perfectly paired white, not a single bit of after taste, rather clean, smooth, now if only I remembered the name of the wine. Next, the ultimate in indulgence, the mac and cheese and balsamic meatloaf with bacon on top. All I can say is that I am very excited for my leftovers tomorrow. I’ll let the experts write about the mac and cheese, but this is for sure one of the top mac and cheese’s I’ve had including my mom’s homemade. Perfectly cheesy with a crumb topping. Rich and satisfying. Oh and red wine with this course, lovely, rich and not a bit of bite.

Lastly homemade boozy egg nog that almost made my toes curl and a Jacque Torres chocolate chip cookie with Del Rey chocolate and salt on top. Damn, the best chocolate chip cookie I’ve tasted. The brownies was super dense rich and good, but I’m not a fan of peanut butter so I let Noelle and Susanna split mine to bring home for later.

The Cache hosts were absolutely lovely. The food fantastic. I cannot wait to try another one of their gourmet dinners. I might even try flying solo!


Leave a comment